Tournament Information

The Mercedes-Benz Cup is a World Series event on the worldwide ATP Tour and offers nearly $1,000,000 in total player prizes. Be an important part of the only major men’s tennis event in Los Angeles as world-class tennis explodes onto the hardcourts of the prestigious Los Angeles Tennis Center at UCLA, home of the 1984 Olympic Games.

DateJuly 26- August 1, 1999
SiteLos Angeles Tennis Center/UCLA, Los Angeles, California
FormatA World Series event on the ATP Tour with 32 world class singles players and 16 doubles teams.
Player Compensation$1,000,000
1999 Early Player EntriesPete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Marcelo Rios, Tim Henman, Goran Ivanisevic, Jim Courier and Michael Chang.
Past ChampionsAndre Agassi, Jim Courier, Michael Chang, Michael Stich, Boris Becker, Pete Sampras, Stefan Edberg, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Rod Laver, Arthur Ashe, Ken Rosewall, Jack Kramer, Fred Perry.
TelevisionThe semifinals and finals will be televised on Fox Sports Network reaching over 41 million homes in the U.S., on Eurosport throughout Europe, and on Star TV throughout Asia.

The Tradition

Now in its 73rd incredible year, the Mercedes-Benz Cup is conducted by the non-profit USTA So. Calif. Section and UCLA. Proceeds from the tournament benefit the many worthwhile grassroots programs conducted by the USTA So. Calif. Section.


The Players

Early entries include the world’s #1 player for the past six years, Pete Sampras; the world’s former #1 player, Marcelo Rios and four time Grand Slam Singles Champion and arguably the most popular player in tennis, Andre Agassi.   Be a part of the hot summer action as 32 of the world’s top single stars and 16 doubles teams compete for the most significant tennis title this side of the U.S. Open.   Recent finalists of the Mercedes-Benz Cup include Michael Chang, Michael Stich, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker, Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Richard Krajicek and Tim Henman.  Buy now and don’t miss a single serve, smash or volley at Southern California’s most exciting tennis tournament.

Continue Reading